About

Claude_Lafitte_edited.jpg

Claude Lafitte specializes in European and well as Canadian art, and is a fixture of the Canadian art market. He got his start as a young man of 20-years-old after attending an auction of European Masters in New York City. There he met a woman who needed someone who spoke French to buy art for her in France. Soon after, Lafitte began conducting monthly trips between Paris and New York City, buying art by the likes of Renoir, and gaining deep knowledge of the international art market. Lafitte’s achievements as an international art dealer set the stage for him to open Galerie Claude Lafitte, in Laval in 1975 and then Montreal in 1982. His ambitious and dynamic personality earned him enduring success in national and international markets, with collectors based across Canada, the United States, Europe, and Japan.

From the start, this gallerist saw big for Riopelle

 

At home and abroad Lafitte has championed Canadian artists, particularly Jean-Paul Riopelle, who Lafitte personally knew and whose work he has supported since the ‘70s. In 1987, Lafitte accurately predicted that within a matter of years Riopelle would be the first Canadian artist to sell for over 1 million USD. Indeed, a painting by Riopelle sold for 1.4 million USD in 1989 (1.9 CAD) at auction in New York City. In 1989 Lafitte also held the most comprehensive exhibition of Riopelle’s work since the Musée du Québec’s exhibition seven years prior.

Democratizing Painting in Canada, an Avant-garde View

 

To commemorate 35 years in business, Claude and his wife Nicole curated a year-long traveling tour across Canada of 20 of his most coveted works of art. The touring exhibition included superb examples of some of Canada’s most celebrated artists, including a four-foot Marc-Aurèle Fortin. The purpose of the exhibition was simply to share their passion by creating opportunities for the public to see exceptional Canadian art. As part of their tour, they offered visitors free verbal valuations of their own art collections.

 

Now celebrating 45 years, Lafitte remains driven by the same sense of devotion to his artists and the public. His life’s work is fuelled by the understanding that “a country without culture is a country without soul,” and the belief that happiness comes from giving back.

 

Lafitte on the Museum of Fine Arts Honour Roll

 

Lafitte has shared his success by actively giving to cultural institutions and initiatives including the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, to which he donated Hibou-pelle, a rare 7-foot tall sculpture by Riopelle, which the museum permanently installed for year-round public viewing at the intersection of Avenue du Musée and Sherbrooke St W. Lafitte also contributed annually to the museum toward pre-19th century Canadian prints and drawings. He was given the honour of being named one of ten individuals on the Funding Committee to raise funds for the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts’ second building. For his contributions Lafitte is personally named on the museum’s wall as a significant donor.

 

To a charity auction supporting OXFAM Québec in 1985 Lafitte donated 80% of the artwork for sale, including a stunning 1928 painting by Marc-Aurèle Fortin. The auction raised a total of $21,000, and true to his life philosophy regarding giving back, he donated an additional $4,000 out of pocket so that he could contribute an even $25,000 to the organization.

 

A beating heart for contemporary art for nearly half a century

After 45 years, Galerie Claude Lafitte continues to play a vital role in shaping the Canadian art market by promoting the best of 20th-century and Post-War & Contemporary art, and by advising emerging and established collectors. The gallery exhibits, buys, and sells high-end quality works by Les Automatistes, Les Plasticiens, the Beaver Hall Group, the Group of Seven, and other renowned Canadian groups of painters. Some artists include Marcel Barbeau, Paul-Émile Borduas, Emily Carr, Maurice Cullen, Jean-Phillipe Dallaire, Marc-Aurèle Fortin, Charles Gagnon, Jacques Hurtubise, Cornelius Kreighoff, Jean Paul Lemieux, Rita Letendre, John Goodwin Lyman, Jean McEwen, Guido Molinari, James Wilson Morrice, Alfred Pellan, Robert Pilot, Jean-Paul Rioppelle, Albert Robinson, Tom Thomson, Claude Tousignant, and Marc-Aurèle de Foy Suzor-Côté. Lafitte also specializes in the work of Marc Chagall, Fernand Léger, Marino Marini, Joan Miró, Henry Moore, Robert Motherwell, Pablo Picasso, and Pierre-Auguste Renoir, and others.

À propos

Claude_Lafitte_edited.jpg

Claude Lafitte est un spécialiste de l'art européen et canadien qui fait partie intégrante du marché de l'art au Canada. À l’âge de 20 ans, il amorce sa carrière après avoir assisté à une vente aux enchères de maîtres européens à New York. Lors de cet événement, il rencontre une femme à la recherche d’une personne parlant le français afin d’acheter, pour son compte, des œuvres d'art en France. Peu de temps après, Lafitte commence à voyager mensuellement entre Paris et New York pour y acheter des œuvres d'art de Renoir et ainsi acquérir une connaissance approfondie du marché international de l'art. Les réalisations de Lafitte en tant que marchand d'art international le conduisent à l'ouverture de la Galerie Claude Lafitte, à Laval en 1975, puis à Montréal en 1982. Sa personnalité ambitieuse et dynamique lui vaut un succès durable sur les marchés nationaux et internationaux, auprès de collectionneurs basés partout au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Europe et au Japon.

Dès le départ, ce galeriste a vu grand pour Riopelle

 

Tant au pays qu’à l’étranger, Lafitte appuie des artistes canadiens, en particulier Jean-Paul Riopelle, qu’il connait personnellement et dont il soutient le travail depuis les années 70. En 1987, Lafitte prédit que, d'ici quelques années, Riopelle deviendrait le premier artiste canadien à vendre une œuvre à plus de 1 million de dollars américains. Deux ans plus tard à New York, un tableau de Riopelle se vend aux enchères pour la somme de 1,4 million $ US (1,9 million $ CA). Enfin, en 1989, Lafitte monte l'exposition la plus complète de l'œuvre de Riopelle depuis l'exposition du Musée du Québec qui avait eu lieu 7 ans auparavant.

Démocratiser la peinture au Canada, une vue avant-gardiste

 

Afin de commémorer ses 35 ans d'activité, Claude et son épouse Nicole organisent une tournée pancanadienne d'un an, qui présente 20 de ses œuvres d'art les plus convoitées. Cette exposition itinérante comprend de superbes œuvres d’artistes les plus célèbres du Canada, dont une de Marc-Aurèle Fortin mesurant 4 pieds de longueur. Le but de l’entreprise est simplement de partager leur passion, en fournissant au public l’occasion d’admirer des œuvres d’art canadiennes d’exception. Dans cette tournée, ils offrent gratuitement aux visiteurs des évaluations verbales de leurs collections d'art personnelles.

 

Célébrant maintenant ses 45 ans de carrière, Lafitte reste toujours animé par le même sens du dévouement envers ses artistes et le public. Le travail de sa vie est alimenté par l’idée qu’un « pays sans culture est un pays sans âme » et par la conviction que le bonheur vient du fait de redonner.

 

Lafitte au tableau d’honneur du Musée des beaux-arts

 

Lafitte partage son succès en donnant activement à des institutions culturelles et des initiatives culturelles, dont le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, à qui il a fait don de Hibou-pelle, une rare sculpture de Riopelle mesurant 7 pieds de haut, que le Musée a installée de façon permanente à l'intersection de l'avenue du Musée et de la rue Sherbrooke Ouest. Chaque année, Lafitte contribue également en donnant au Musée des estampes et des dessins canadiens d'avant le XIXe siècle. Il a l'honneur d'avoir été nommé l’un des dix membres du comité de financement ayant amassé des fonds pour le deuxième édifice du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal. Pour ses contributions, le nom de Lafitte est inscrit sur le mur du Musée en tant que donateur important.

 

En 1985, lors d’une vente aux enchères caritative au profit d’OXFAM Québec, Lafitte fait don de 80 % des œuvres d'art à vendre, dont une superbe peinture de Marc-Aurèle Fortin de 1928. La vente aux enchères permet de récolter un total de 21 000 $ et, fidèle à sa philosophie de vie concernant les dons, il octroie une somme personnelle supplémentaire de 4 000 $ afin que la contribution à l’organisme totalise 25 000 $.

 

Un coeur vibrant pour l’art contemporain depuis près d’un demi-siècle

Après 45 ans, la Galerie Claude Lafitte continue de jouer un rôle essentiel dans le marché de l'art canadien, en promouvant le meilleur de l'art contemporain du XXe siècle et de l’après-guerre, et en conseillant des collectionneurs émergents et établis. La galerie expose, achète et vend des œuvres de haute qualité des Automatistes, des Plasticiens, du Beaver Hall Group, du Groupe des Sept, ainsi que d'autres groupes de peintres canadiens renommés. Parmi les artistes, on y retrouve Marcel Barbeau, Paul-Émile Borduas, Emily Carr, Maurice Cullen, Jean-Philippe Dallaire, Marc-Aurèle Fortin, Charles Gagnon, Jacques Hurtubise, Cornelius Kreighoff, Jean Paul Lemieux, Rita Letendre, John Goodwin Lyman, Jean McEwen, Guido Molinari, James Wilson Morrice, Alfred Pellan, Robert Pilot, Jean-Paul Riopelle, Albert Robinson, Tom Thomson, Claude Tousignant et Marc-Aurèle de Foy Suzor-Côté. Lafitte se spécialise également dans le travail de Marc Chagall, Fernand Léger, Marino Marini, Joan Miró, Henry Moore, Robert Motherwell, Pablo Picasso et Pierre-Auguste Renoir, et plusieurs autres.